|Email To a Friend:
|Halacha - Tefillin|
|Submitted by Dovid Answered by Rav Peretz Moncharsh|
The Gemorra says that the paint used to color the tefillin must be Kosher to eat. Since it is impossible to know the source of the ingredients in a regular magic marker, it is strongly advisable to use the "tefillin marker". You should remember to speak out loud "lesheim mitzvas tefillin" when using it.